Pujas at Kagyu Ling and online

Shrine room at Kagyu Ling - social distancingRegular pujas are held in the shrine room at Kagyu Ling. 

To take part in pujas you should have taken refuge and received the appropriate initiation and lung (reading transmission) from a qualified Buddhist teacher. The exceptions are Chenrezik and 16 Arhats pujas, where all are welcome to sit in, even if you have not taken refuge or received the initiation. 

Weekly pujas

Please note that from Monday 15 July to Wednesday 24 July 2024 all normal activity – classes, groups and pujas – will be suspended at Kagyu Ling and across the North West, to enable attention to be focused on the visit of His Holiness Karmapa.  Classes and pujas etc. resume on Thursday 25 July. 

Chenrezik:  each Sunday at 10.30 am. Also on zoom: Chenrezik puja zoom link  

Dzambala: each Monday at 8pm.  Dzambala zoom link 

Medicine Buddha (Sanjay Menla): each Wednesday at 12.15pm.  Sanjay Menla zoom link  

16th Karmapa Guru Yoga: each Wednesday at 7pm. 16th Karmapa zoom link 

Green Tara: each Saturday at 5pm.  Green Tara zoom link  

Lojong practice session: each Thursday at 8pm. Lojong zoom link 

Occasional pujas (not zoomed)

Guru Rinpoche: (8pm unless otherwise stated) Wednesday 14 August. Friday 13 September.

Amitabha: (8pm unless otherwise stated) Sunday 19 August at 12.30pm. Wednesday 18 September.

Dorje Phagmo: (7pm unless otherwise stated)  Monday 1 July. Tuesday 30 July. Wednesday 28 August. Friday 27 September.

Long Mahakala: (7pm unless otherwise stated)  Thursday 4 July. Sunday 3 August at 12.30pm. Sunday 1 September at 12.30pm.

Buddha Days 2024

There are four Buddha Days which are celebrated worldwide with recitation of prayers for the benefit of all being. 

  • Chotrul Duchen – Miracles Day –  Saturday 24 February.
  • Saga Dawa Duchen – birth, enlightenment and parinirvana – Thursday 23 May.
  • Chokhor Duchen – Lord Buddha’s first teaching – Tuesday 9 July.
  • Lha Bab Duchen – descent from the god realm  – Friday 22 November. 

Buddha Days are marked at Kagyu Ling with the recitation of the 16 Arhats sadhana at 8pm. Anyone is welcome to sit in on the Buddha Day practice, even if you have not taken refuge. You can also join on zoom: Buddha Day zoom.

More information